Skip navigation

Well, hello again, dear readers.  Did you miss me?

If you’re a regular reader, you may have noticed that I’ve been absent for a while (although I’m sure no one was saying to themselves, “You know, I haven’t seen any new postings on that amazing blog, Only Partly Erotic.  I wonder what’s happened to ol’ Bimodal?”).  I purposely violated my solemn oath to update at least twice per week, and for that, I offer my most sincere apology.  I just needed a little time off.

Not from this blog necessarily, though I confess a certain degree of satisfaction at not having to worry about what I’m going to write about.  No, I needed a break from… well, pretty much everything.  Work.  Research.  Publications.  Friends.  Family.  Everything.  So, I packed my shit and went hiking.

There is a major national park near the university at which I conduct my research.  I shan’t say which, so as to maintain my anonymity and an air of mystique (wouldn’t want to drop too many hints, now would we?), but given that I’m new to the region, I’d never visited the park.  As my frustration with my marriage and work responsibilities piled higher and deeper, I finally reached a caving point, and I just had to go.  So I spoke to Ashley, told her that I needed some time alone to think, and took off the next day for the park.

I spent the next five days in complete isolation.  And good lord was it glorious.  Purple mountain majesties indeed.

I wish I had more to say about it, but it was hiking.  I could recount spending hours beside a waterfall, watching wildlife pass by while cooking dinner, reading The Iliad beside the campfire… but really, how interested could anyone be such things?  They’re not exciting.  I can’t even fit a narrative to them.  It’s just what I did.  Besides, those aren’t things I want to share.

It’s odd.  I’ll tell you all about every woman I fuck, every bit of personal indiscretion I commit, but time spent in the wilderness, apart from my research activities, is mine and mine alone.

Anyhow, I have returned from self-imposed exile to a small mountain of manuscript revisions and proposal deadlines, a wife grateful to have me home, and a blog for which I should be able to write with ease but with which I continually struggle.  Regular updates will resume next week, once I’ve had a little time to catch up on my writing, and to follow up with the charming Ms. Marian the Librarian.

See you soon, dear readers.

6 Comments

  1. You need something that’s yours solely. There are many things I consider sharing, but then I realize that’s too much of me going out. I wish I could’ve had a getaway, but I settled instead for a morning in bed since school is done. It was quite nice.

  2. You are completely wrong, BTW .. ““ I’m sure no one was saying to themselves, You know, I haven’t seen any new postings on that amazing blog, Only Partly Erotic. I wonder what’s happened to ol’ Bimodal?”).

    You had exactly 48 more hours before you got an email from me inquiring after you.

    Glad you’re back,

    GC

  3. I did notice the absence, and wondered how you were. I’m glad you are ok.

  4. “You know, I haven’t seen any new postings on that amazing blog, Only Partly Erotic. I wonder what’s happened to ol’ Bimodal?”

    I actually did, and I have been waiting for your follow up story for daaaaaayyysssss!! Thanks for finally posting! Now, get writing! 😉

  5. I absolutely noticed the absence and was curious…glad you’re back, but even happier that you had the opportunity to get away for a bit…

  6. I can’t imagine having that kind of freedom. Of just saying, “I am going away for awhile” by myself, with my thoughts. That sounds really fun. I would bring a lot of pot and smoke my head off and be really happy.


Thoughts? Put them here.

